Vanuatu ranked 8th as Malta win Emerging Nations World Championship

Malta has won the major prize at the 2018 Rugby League Emerging Nations World Championship, defeating Niue 24-16 in the Cup Final at a packed St Marys Leagues Stadium today (Saturday 13 October).

In the day’s other matches, Poland defeated the Philippines 14-10 to win the Trophy Final, claiming 5th spot as a result, and Solomon Islands beat Hong Kong 56-14 in the Plate Final.

Greece won the third place play-off 26-18 over Hungary, and Turkey won the seventh place play-off 27-26 over Vanuatu.

Mediterranean-Middle East won the regional Confederations Cup, defeating African United 32-6. ASEAN beat Latin Heat 18-14 in the regional third place play-off.

In the Physical Disability Test series, Australia beat New Zealand 14-8 to claim a hard-fought series 2-1.

Tournament Director Tas Baitieri said: “Today was a wonderful culmination of a fantastic two weeks of international Rugby League, showcasing newly emerging talent across several continents.

“The feedback from everyone has been fantastic, and the teams are looking forward to the tournament returning in four years.”

Vanuatu participated in its first Emerging Nations World Championship tournament and has ended the tournament ranked 8th just ahead of Solomon Islands, Hong Kong, and Japan.

Vanuatu Rugby League Captain James Wood (proudly supported by The Coolangatta Hotel) was also selected in the Rugby League Emerging Nations World Championship Team of the Tournament.

Emerging Nations World Championship
1. Malta
2. Niue
3. Greece
4. Hungary
5. Poland
6. Philippines
7. Turkey
8. Vanuatu
9. Solomon Islands
10. Hong Kong
11. Japan